fbpx

Top 20 personal care startup’s in India:

  1. Sugar Cosmetics
  2. Purplle
  3. Cure Skin
  4. Plum Goodness
  5. Coloressence
  6. Myglamm
  7. Nykaa
  8. Elle 18
  9. Mamaearth
  10. Kay Beauty
  11. Renee Cosmetics
  12. Nat Habbit
  13. Earth Rhythm
  14. Skinkraft
  15. color bar
  16. blue heaven
  17. lotus herbals
  18. mCaffine
  19. Just Herbs
  20. Deconstruct

1. Sugar Cosmetics:

One of the most popular and trending brands in India right now is Sugar Cosmetics. The headquarters of Sugar is situated in Mumbai, India. Sugar cosmetics was founded in the year 2012 by Vineeta Singh and Kaushik Mukherjee and is one of the fastest-growing cosmetics brands in the country.

At first, only two products, kohl pencil, and black eyeliner were available; now from eyeliners to lipsticks one can get find anything here. All the products are made to be fit for Indian skin. Sugar cosmetics supplies its products in more than 130 cities and has also expanded outside India as it has an outlet in Russia and an online presence in the United States.

The current revenue is INR 500 Crores.

Funding: $85.5M – Undisclosed

Sugar Cosmetics: https://www.linkedin.com/company/sugar-cosmetics/

Founders: Vineeta Singh – https://www.linkedin.com/in/vineetasingh/

Kaushik Mukherjee – https://www.linkedin.com/in/kaushikmkj/

2. Purplle:

Purplle.com is one of India’s largest e-beauty destinations with more than 7 million monthly active users. It was founded in the year 2012 in Mumbai. The beauty e-tailer has over 1000+ brands with nearly 50,000 products, available on its website and app. Purplle.com recently closed a $45M deal from Verlinvest, Sequoia Capital India, Blume Ventures & JSW Ventures. Purplle has successfully scaled its digital-first beauty brands like Purplle, Good Vibes, and NY Bae, amongst others. Good Vibes from this cohort has already become an INR 150 Cr brand and is one of the top 3 in the Naturals Skincare space on the app. Purplle has built a differentiated, highly personalized digital shopping experience for consumers through its app by creating detailed user personas, enabling customers to test make-up, and recommending products based on personality, search keywords, and purchase behavior. With over 800 employees and growing at more than 90% percent year-on-year, Purplle is well-positioned to be a leader in the burgeoning Indian e-beauty space.

Funding: $296.3M – Series E

Purplle: https://www.linkedin.com/company/purplle-com/

Founders: Manish Taneja – https://www.linkedin.com/in/manish-taneja-64657116/

Rahul Dash – https://www.linkedin.com/in/rahuldash/

3. Cure Skin:

Cure Skin was founded in the year 2017 in Bangalore. Cure Skin is providing AI-dermatologists on your smartphones.

The app is available on the Google Play store. It enables users to take photos and instantly get AI analysis for acne, dark spots, pigmentation, wrinkles, and others for free. 

Once the analysis is complete, it prepares a personalized treatment that can be purchased through in-app transactions. The plan includes free diet and lifestyle guidance.

For users with good skin, the app suggests a dermatologist-designed plan to maintain healthy skin and hair.

In March 2022, the beauty and personal care brand raised $5 million in a Series A round.

The startup plans to deploy these funds to grow its overall customer base, expand into adjacent categories and make further investments in technology.

Funding: 5.65 M – Series A

Cure Skin: https://www.linkedin.com/company/cureskin/about/

Founder: Guna Kakulapati – https://www.linkedin.com/in/guna-kakulapati-6981ba2/

Charu Sharma – https://www.linkedin.com/in/charu-sharma-3959114/

Rama Rajanna – https://www.linkedin.com/in/ramakrishnarajanna/?originalSubdomain=in

4. Plum Goodness:

Plum Goodness was launched in 2013 by Shankar Prasad. It is a Mumbai-based vegan skincare brand Plum Goodness offers cruelty-free and toxin-free beauty products across skincare, haircare, personal care, and makeup. As per the start-up, its user base is close to two million across online and offline channels and getting the highest traction from Delhi, Mumbai, and Chennai among metros.

Plum has raised $50 million so far since its inception.

In March 2022, it raised $35 million in Series C

Funding: $250 million

Plum: https://www.linkedin.com/company/plum-goodness/

Founder: Shankar Prasad – https://www.linkedin.com/in/shankarprasad/

5. Coloressence:

Coloressesnce is one of the fastest-growing cosmetics brands in India. It was founded in the year 2008 in India. The ingredients that are being used in the products of this brand are imported from Germany. It is quite affordable, and the brand has a huge range of cosmetic products to choose from.

Coloressence: https://www.linkedin.com/company/coloressence/about/

Founder: Suneeti Soni – https://www.linkedin.com/in/suneeti-soni-4495257a/?originalSubdomain=in

6. MyGlamm:

MyGlamm is a beauty products marketplace. It was founded in the year 2015 in Mumbai, India. The company’s online storefront has more than 600 stock-keeping units (SKUs) in the cosmetics and personal care markets. MyGlamm achieved a $100M valuation following its recent funding in March 2021.

Funding: $311.9M – Series D

My Glamm: https://www.linkedin.com/company/myglamm/

Founder: Priyanka Gillhttps://www.linkedin.com/in/priyankagill/?originalSubdomain=uk

7. Nykaa:

Nykaa is one of the most used online platforms to buy cosmetics in the country now. The company was founded in the year 2012 in Mumbai by Falguni Nayar. The platform is definitely a perfect place to get a wide range of beauty and wellness products, one can find over 2000 brands on this platform supplying over 200000 products.

The company has over 5 million active users monthly, it has over 70 stores across the country. It is focusing on opening over 180 stores by 2024.

Funding: $64.4m

Nykaa: https://www.linkedin.com/company/nykaa-com/

Founder: Falguni Nayar – https://www.linkedin.com/in/falguni-nayar-845065a0/?originalSubdomain=in

8. Elle 18:

One of the most affordable brands of cosmetics, Elle18 is owned by Hindustan Unilever Limited, and the brand was founded in the year 1998. Its cosmetic products are full of bright colors that make them look lively and help in attracting the youth. Cosmetic products like Lipsticks and nail polish are quite famous for their affordability amongst the youth. Even the packaging of the products is quite modern and trendy, which makes it attractive.

Founder: Hindustan Unilever Limited – https://www.linkedin.com/company/hindustan-unilever123123/

9. Mamaearth:

Mamaearth is an online retailer specializing in natural beauty and personal care products for children and adults. It was founded in the year 2016 in Gurgaon, India. They experienced 400% growth through the pandemic, and name their Vitamin C face washes and move towards brick-and-mortar stores as major drivers behind their success.

Funding: $110.8M (Series Unknown)

Mamaearth: https://www.linkedin.com/company/mama-earth-in/

Founder: Ghazal Alagh – https://www.linkedin.com/in/ghazal-alagh-9755a0128/?originalSubdomain=in

10. Kay Beauty:

A beauty brand launched by one of India’s most loved Bollywood celebrities, Katrina Kaif. Kay Beauty has been able to make its presence felt since its very beginning. It was founded in the year 2019 in India. The brand has been able to provide some good products that are used daily such as lipsticks and blushes. Kay beauty collaborated with Nykaa during its launch, and it was found in 50 stores and in the online platform of Nykaa.

Kay Beauty: https://www.linkedin.com/company/kay-beauty/about/

Founder: Katrina Kaif

11. Renee Cosmetics:

Renée Cosmetics is a cruelty-free beauty brand offering a wide range of eye makeup, lip colors, skin serums, and highlighters. It was founded in the year 2019 in Ahmedabad, India.

Renée Cosmetics is getting the highest purchases from Bangalore, Hyderabad, and Mumbai for online purchases, and for offline it is getting the purchases from Guwahati, Mumbai, and Ludhiana.

In February 2022, the beauty startup raised $10 million in a Series A round led by Mensa Brands

The startup plans to use the funds majorly in strengthening its brand presence and widening its offline presence. A part of the fund will also be leveraged for catalog expansion and marketing budgets.

Funding: 11M

Renée Cosmetics: https://www.linkedin.com/company/renee-cosmetics/

Founders: Aashka Goradia Goble – https://www.linkedin.com/in/aashkagoradia/?originalSubdomain=in

Priyank Shah – https://www.linkedin.com/in/priyank-shah-18369237/?originalSubdomain=in

12. Nat Habit:

Nat Habit is a beauty product brand that takes the wisdom from old beauty kitchens. It was founded in the year 2018 in Gurugram, Haryana, India. They prepare these products every day, in beauty kitchens, so that they can deliver them to their customers absolutely fresh without chemicals and preservatives. The product catalogue includes face masks, face packs, deep cleansing lotion, hair products, bath products, etc. The products offered are suitable for all types of skins. Last Funding Round – $4.07M, Series A, Apr 19, 2022.

Funding: $7.04M

Nat Habit: https://www.linkedin.com/company/nathabit/

Founders: Swagatika Das – https://www.linkedin.com/in/swagatikadas/

Gaurav Agarwal – https://www.linkedin.com/in/agarwalg10/

13. Earth Rhythm:

Earth Rhythm offers professional-grade products in haircare, skincare, and makeup lines. The products are safe, non-toxic, sustainable, and biodegradable. It was founded in the year 2019 in Gurgaon, Haryana. by Harini Sivakumarand her fatherGurugram-based

The startup claims that its products combine natural raw materials and science-backed formulations with a zero-waste philosophy, and each product formulation takes anywhere from months to years to perfect.

In April 2022, it raised $8 million from Nykaa in a Series A round, with participation from existing investor Anicut Capital.

In July last year, clean beauty personal care D2C brand also raised $1.2 million seed funding from Anicut Angel Fund, the equity arm of Anicut Capital.

Company: https://www.linkedin.com/company/earth-rhythm/

Founder: Harini Sivakumar – https://www.linkedin.com/in/harini-sivakumar-28703314/

14. Skinkraft

Skinkraft is an organic cosmetic company. It was founded in the year 2018 in Hyderabad and Bengaluru.

Skinkraft understands this issue and it has developed a unique solution for the customers.

At first, it collects the data from the customer which contains information about their skin. It not only considers the skin types that are normal, oily, or dry but also other important influences like lifestyle and diet.

According to the company, the products are made depending upon thousands of research data with collaboration from the immensely detailed databases from India, Taiwan, and Japan. The company uses Artificial Intelligence technology to collect and process the data from the customers to deliver them the best-suited products. 

Funding: It has raised around US$ 4 million funding in Series A from RPSG Ventures

Skinkraft – https://www.linkedin.com/company/skinkraft/

Founders: Chaitanya Nallan – https://www.linkedin.com/in/chaitanya-chakravarthy-b56b313/?originalSubdomain=in

Virendra Shivhare – https://www.linkedin.com/in/veerendra/

Sangram Simha – https://www.linkedin.com/in/sangramsimha/

15. Color Bar:

Color Bar was launched with an intention of providing its customers with homegrown cosmetic products that will be suited for Indian skin. It was founded in the year 2004 in Delhi, India, and after almost a decade in 2013; the cosmetic company becomes an INR 100 Crore brand. The brand is targeting the age of 25 to 40, the best thing about this brand is that it is cruelty-free as well. It has now become the third-largest cosmetics company in India. Last funding round – $1.5M, Seed, Mar 29, 2019.

Funding: $3.95M – Seed

Color Bar: https://www.linkedin.com/company/colorbarcosmetics/

Founder: Samir Modi – https://www.linkedin.com/in/samir-modi/?originalSubdomain=in

16. Blue Heaven:

The company is an Indian brand focusing on manufacturing cosmetic products in India. It was founded in the year 1974 in Delhi, India, and established in the year 2002. All the makeup products are specially made keeping the Indian skin in mind. The brand is known for its affordable and cruelty-free products. Last funding round – $5.75M, Series A, Apr 01, 2019.

Funding: $5.75M – Series A

Blue Heaven: https://www.linkedin.com/company/blue-heaven-cosmetics/

Founders: Charanjit Singh, Gurname Singh

17. Lotus Herbals:

This Indian Cosmetics brand is manufacturing over 250 natural skincare, hair care and makeup products that mainly include Ayurvedic and organic ingredients. The brand was established in 1993 in Delhi, India. by Kamal Passi. The brand is famous for its huge range of skincare and makeup products that are cruelty-free and is against animal testing. In 2019, Lotus was even awarded as ‘Luxury Brand of the Year’ 2019. In 2022, it acquired a 25 per cent stake in direct-to-consumer brand Conscious Chemist.

Lotus Herbals: https://www.linkedin.com/company/lotus-herbals/

Founder: Kamal Passi – https://www.linkedin.com/in/kamal-passi-39331b25/?originalSubdomain=in

18. mCaffeine:

mCaffeine is an organic beauty brand. It was founded in the year 2016 in Delhi, India. All the beauty products are coffee flavoured which gives their brand the unique USP. The quality of the products is great and so far they have maintained a huge fanbase, with over 5 lakh customers. The annual revenue is said to be a hundred crore, approximately. Last Funding Round – $31.5M, Series C, Feb 22, 2022.

Funding: $45.6M – Series C

mCaffeine: https://www.linkedin.com/company/mcaffeine/

Founder: Tarun Sharma – https://www.linkedin.com/in/tarun-sharma-a5993328/?originalSubdomain=in

Vikas Lachhwani – https://www.linkedin.com/in/vlachhwani/?originalSubdomain=in

19. Just Herbs:

Just Herbs is a manufacturer of herbal and ayurvedic skincare and make-up products intended to serve as chemical-free skincare treatment alternatives. It was founded in teh year 2002 in Haryana, India. The company’s products are made from plant-based ingredients, essential oils, and precious herbs collected from all over India which contain no harsh chemicals or foaming agents, thereby enabling customers to acquire herbal alternatives for their various cosmetic and skincare needs. Last Funding Round – $1.34M, Seed, Jul 21, 2021.

Funding: $2.91M

Just Herbs: https://www.linkedin.com/company/apcos-naturals-herbalists-since-2002-/

Founders: Arush Chopra – https://www.linkedin.com/in/arush-chopra-3942175/?originalSubdomain=in

20. Deconstruct:

Deconstruct is a manufacturer of beautification products designed for a chemical-free and safe skincare routine. It was founded in the year 2021 in Bangalore, India. The company’s website offers a range of products for improving skin texture, tan removal, white head removal, and acne, as well as provides blog support on various skin conditions such as pigmentation, dry and oily skin, open pores, and many more in an easy to understand format, providing users an all-in-one solution for their skin related problems. It raised $2 million in its seed round from Kalaari Capital’s flagship program CXXO and Beenext.

Funding: $2M – Seed

Deconstruct: https://www.linkedin.com/company/the-deconstruct/

Founder: Malini Adapureddy – https://www.linkedin.com/in/malini-adapureddy-40b15123/?originalSubdomain=in

Tags

top